Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Sabriel
New Contributor

Relationship breakdown

Hey 👋, I'm new to the threads and look forward to healing within the group.

I have depression and anxiety and have had it most of my life. I have been through a great deal of trauma both in my youth and throughout my life.  I have just moved out into temporary accommodation ( which I've never had to do before) as my partnered relationship with a schizophrenic has broken down. My partner is medicated and generally sticks with them although tends to drink alcohol, and as a result of that (among other things) over the relationship, it has caused further trauma to myself.

I moved away from all I knew to be with my partner only to find myself struggling to find my way, isolated from family and friends and feeling very alone.

I am trying to understand schizophrenia and have been very accommodating to the needs of my partner unfortunately to my own detriment, as my mental health has taken a big hit...

Is there hope?

Do I cut my losses and run??

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Relationship breakdown

Hey @Sabriel welcome to the forums, hope you find it to be a warm n welcoming community. 

Sounds like you've made some sacrifices for your partner and you're wanting to be supportive and caring, but it's also meant you've been unable to properly attend to your own needs. I can't tell you whether you should stay or leave, but perhaps reflecting on the sustainability of the relationship could help, as well as whether there's some other ways to find balance, and get your needs met. 

Do you have much external support, like a psych or supportive GP?

Hi @Sabriel